Representative Policy Board Nominating Committee South Central Connecticut Regional Water District Minutes of August 29, 2022 Meeting

A special meeting of the Nominating Committee of the Representative Policy Board ("Committee") of the South Central Connecticut Regional Water District ("RWA") took place on Monday, August 29, 2022, via remote access. Chair Eitzer presided.

Present: **Committee Members** – Brian Eitzer, Charles Havrda, Greg Malloy, Stephen Mongillo, Tim Slocum and Michelle Verderame

Authority – David Borowy

RWA – Larry Bingaman

OCA – Jeffrey Donofrio, Esq.

Staff – Jennifer Slubowski

The Committee called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Chair Eitzer reviewed the Safety Moment distributed to members.

The Committee met with Mr. Borowy, Authority Chair, and Mr. Bingaman, the RWA's President & Chief Executive Officer, to discuss the current makeup of the board, types of experience, traits and responsibilities most needed by the Authority, and the status of the incumbent. They stated that they are pleased with Mr. Curseaden's role as board member and he has served the board in other areas such as his position as Vice Chair, Chair of the Environmental, Health & Safety Committee, and his participation in RWA's tabletop exercises. He adds value to the Authority for his legal advice regarding land matters and through is experience as prior chair of the Representative Policy Board.

Chair Borowy and Mr. Bingaman commented on the strengths of the board including member background, value, committee guidance, and members' ability to work through differences. They also discussed board weaknesses including lack of engineering skillset and current restrictions on board expansion.

Committee members discussed the appointment process and term length as well as the process of appointment of New Haven member to the Authority.

At 5:48 p.m., Messrs. Borowy and Bingaman withdrew from the meeting.

The committee reviewed the various aspects of the Criteria to be Utilized in Recommending Appointment of a Candidate to the Five Member Authority ("Criteria") previously adopted by the Nominating Committee in 2021 and made no changes. On motion made by Mr. Havrda, seconded by Mr. Mongillo, and unanimously carried, the committee voted to move the Criteria, as presented, to the RPB for comment at its meeting on September 22, 2022.

Mr. Eitzer will contact Mr. Curseaden to discuss his interest in reappointment and invite him to attend the next committee meeting.

The Committee members discussed next steps and timeline and scheduled its next meeting on Monday, October 3, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.

At 6:12 p.m., on motion made by Mr. Havrda, seconded by Mr. Mongillo, and unanimously carried, the committee voted to adjourn the meeting.

Brian Eitzer, Chairman