## Representative Policy Board Finance Committee South Central Connecticut Regional Water District

Via Remote Access

## **MINUTES**

## Regular Meeting of Monday, July 13, 2023 at 5:00 p.m.

Members Present: Tim Slocum, Tom Clifford, and Jay Jaser Member Absent: Vincent Marino and Michelle Verderame

RPB Members: Charles Havrda
FMA Member: Kevin Curseaden

Management: Larry Bingaman, Rochelle Kowalski, and Jim Hill

OCA: Atty. Jeffrey Donofrio Staff: Jennifer Slubowski

Chair Slocum called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. He reviewed the Safety Moment distributed to members.

On motion made by Mr. Clifford, seconded by Mr. Jaser, and unanimously carried, the committee voted to approve the minutes of its June 12, 2023 meeting, as presented.

Ms. Kowalski, RWA's Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, reviewed the Year-end Financial Report for the fiscal year ended May 31, 2023, which included:

- Balance sheet
- Statement of revenues, expenses, and changes in net position
- Maintenance test year-end projections
- Operating and maintenance key variances
- Capital budget report
- Year-end disposition

Committee members discussed benefit costs, payroll, vacancies and interest income.

Mr. Slocum reported that his term as committee chair has ended. He spoke with Mr. Marino who is interested in the position. Chair Slocum nominated Mr. Marino for appointment as chair for 2023-2024 administrative year. Mr. Clifford seconded the nomination, and the committee voted to appoint Mr. Marino as chair for 2023-2024.

At 5:30 p.m., Mr. Clifford withdrew from the meeting.

Ms. Kowalski reviewed the RPB Dashboard Metrics for the FY 2023 fourth quarter.

Representative Policy Board Finance Committee July 13, 2023

There was no new business to report.

Chair Slocum acknowledged Mr. Havrda and thanked him for his service while on the Finance Committee. He also thanked Committee members for allowing him to act as chair for the past four years.

At 5:34 p.m., on motion made by Mr. Slocum, seconded by Mr. Jaser, the meeting adjourned.

Timothy Slocum, Chairman	